Feeling Accomplished… Sort Of

I finished writing a manuscript for Silver Publishing’s holiday submissions. While I feel accomplished that I finished writing, proofreading and editing said manuscript, I am a bit worried as to my writing skills. Good grief, not only did I find a lot of words that I had misspelled that spell-check didn’t catch, but also a lot of words that I missed or added letters to. For example, instead of life, I typed out like. Wow… and then came all of the over-used words. That is a whole other can of worms that I really don’t care to get into. Suffice it to say, I will be more mindful of the words I choose to use and will be picking up a thesaurus tomorrow.

 

In other news, since I have finished that manuscript, I can begin anew with one I am anxious to begin. Yeah, I know, there are a lot of those out there, but this one… Oh Gods, I have been thinking about it for days and planning things out and plotting. I am excited to get started, so why haven’t I? Procrastination. I am the queen of that when it comes to writing sex scenes or beginning a new manuscript.

 

I need to be firm with myself. Writing is something I love to do and now that I actually can say I am a publisher author, well, I feel as though I have something to live up to and exceed with any following books. I need to stretch my wings and push myself to write things that are different, but appeal to me. Isn’t that what most authors do?

 

I hope any of you who read my excerpt for Six Sentence Sundays this past weekend enjoyed it. There will be another this coming Sunday from the Christmas manuscript I just submitted. Enjoy!

 

P.F.

Comment?

