The Problem With Rejection Letters…

I am going to preface this by saying first and foremost, I hate with the passion of a thousand fiery suns the fact that editors think I am upset because I got a rejection for a manuscript. I am a woman who grew up fat and entered adulthood at almost 400 pounds. I KNOW how it feels to be rejected. At my age, I am beyond getting upset because of rejection. I am at the point where I would like to know WHY something was rejected. Don’t give me some vague reasons, please give me something concrete so I can fix the problem.

This is where I will have to say that I am going to start requesting my manuscripts back with notes. I don’t think it’s too much to ask. What didn’t you like about it? What didn’t make sense? What could be strengthened before I rip my hair out trying to fix what looks odd to me, but not to you?
 

Throw an author a lifeline here. Don’t leave me swimming out in the nothingness with no help to guide me to make it better. No, don’t hold my hand, but for fuck’s sake, don’t give a random suggestion about one thing when there are multiple issues.

 
Just sayin’.

 

P.F.

Comment?

